Everything changes….

11-21-12-Thankful-2

…when I say “Thank you!”  I love this song by Anthony Evans. I listen to it every day as soon as I get in the car and head to work.  In fact, I love his whole “Back to Life” album!  You have to get it!

There is so much truth in this one statement though.  I have truly been thanking God daily for so many things.  He has been so faithful to me on this journey.  Every single time I am about to give up, He shows up!  Every single time I am at my weakest, He gives me the strength I need to persevere.  Every single time I feel hopeless, He’s given me hope!  Every….single…..time!!! My God is a right on time God and I am truly thankful!

I have started thanking Him as if my prayers are already answered! This keeps me focused on Him and it keeps me patient and secure in His promises! Our God is so amazing! He continues to show up for me exceedingly and abundantly more than I could ask or think!!  (Ephesians 3:20…..I love this one! I use it a lot if you haven’t noticed.)

Before I even finished this post, I got news that my daddy’s clinical trial did not work. My daddy has mantle cell lymphoma and it’s been a hard journey for everyone.  It is hard to see someone you love go through so much.  I will admit yesterday I was a mess!  I never once questioned God but I did cry most of the day.  I ran harder than ever yesterday during my work out and then I walked and prayed.  I was so drained that by the time I went to bed I could hardly keep my eyes open. The Lord gave me rest and woke me up today and I am so thankful!  This morning as I was driving to work and praying I chose to give glory to God and thanks to Him for every day He allows me to have with my daddy.  He is still here and we are still fighting this knowing that none of us are promised tomorrow.  We know that every day we have is a gift from God and we should thank Him for it!

When things happen that make me cry, I now go for a walk and thank God for them.  I’ve said before that one of my first prayers of the day is “Dear Heavenly Father, You are in charge of everything that will happen to me today- whether it be good or bad, positive or negative.  I will be thankful for everything that happens to me today.” I changed the please make me thankful to I will be thankful. When things don’t go as planned, I remind myself that this was how I started my day.  I told Him I would be thankful for everything that happens so I get out there and thank Him.  I know that the Lord can and will change even bad things around for my good!

So today I encourage you to just be thankful!  Thankful when things go as planned and thankful when they don’t.  Thankful for the big things but also thankful for the little things.  Thankful in the laughter and thankful in the tears.  A thankful heart will bring you freedom from whatever strongholds you have.  A thankful heart will bring you peace in the midst of your storms.  A thankful heart will change how you look at your day.  A thankful heart will bring about answered prayers!  I am a living testimony of this and I am so thankful to the creator of the universe who takes the time for me every single day!!!!

Leave a comment